Highlander Coos: What you need to know

In May I was able to take some extended family and visit Scotland. I have to say that visiting Scotland was not really on my “have to get there” bucket list trips. But that changed when I did the Ancestry DNA, you know, spit in a tube and mail that to someone else to look at. You know if you think about it, well that is kinda gross. But there is someone in another state who gets to run tests on it to find out more about you than you probably would want a person to know. But anyway, I digress. A few weeks later a notification appears on my phone and to my surprise I find out that I’m 42% Scottish!

Air tickets… purchased        And off we went!

the name Highland Coo

Wondering how their name came about? It really is quite simple. The Scottish Highlands are a magnificent area in the north of Scotland. So the Highland part of the name derives from the area where they are from. Then the word “coo” is believed to have originated from the Gaelic word meaning cow. So if you put those together it just makes sense.

Their Appearance

This majestic creature looks like it needs a trip to the beauty shop but they have this long shaggy hair for a reason. The weather in the Highlands stays pretty cold. The warmest time of the year is June to August and the temperature is 59-63 degrees. So their long hair serves a purpose to keep them warm in their harsh climate. So for this reason you may hear them called a “hairy coo” especially when visiting Scotland. They do have long horns which serve to keep them safe from predators. This hardy breed of cattle has survived in the Scottish Highlands for centuries and is easily recognizable.

With a long, thick, flowy coat of rich hair and long horns, this breed has not changed much since its beginnings. You will see mostly cows with red coats but they also come in other shades including yellow, brindle, dun, white, and black, which is the breed’s original color.

the lifespan of Highland cows

The average lifespan is 15 years but some do live closer to 20 years. In this time frame, they can birth up to 15 calves over their lives. They are good mommas. They are a low-maintenance breed.

their diets

They are grazers and enjoy grasses and other types of plants. But also enjoy hay and have been known to eat tree bark. While we were there they paid little to no attention to us, which broke my heart. I just knew I would make friends with all of them we came across. I tried and tried. About the time I was getting somewhere with one of them this happened… Clearly, he needed a minute.

History

Did you know these beautiful animals are one of the oldest breeds of cattle in the world? They have found them mentioned as far back as the 18th century in the Highland Cattle Herd Book. It was first published in 1885 and its pedigree is listed there among all other cattle. They serve as one of Britain’s oldest, most distinctive, and best-known breeds.

The Highland Cow is an important part of Scottish culture and Scottish history, and they have grown in popularity in many paintings, books, music, and television shows. These animals have become loved by people worldwide.

in closing

I have seen lots of photos and paintings of these beautiful animals in Hobby Lobby and other stores a lot lately. Recently I have started redecorating my bedroom and decided to use photos from my trip to Scotland and painting of Highlander cows. I don’t know how long it will stay that way but what a wonderful way to remember our heritage and my trip to Scotland. I was invited to come back by the Scottish Tourism Board in April and at that time I hope to get many more photos to use.

The next time you see a Highland Cattle, take a moment to appreciate its unique features and the way it has become intertwined with Scottish culture. If you ever get a chance to visit the Scottish Highlands and see these animals in their natural environment- GO!

If you need help planning a trip to Scotland, I would love to help you.

Enjoy a quick video from Scotland

Leave a comment